A Guide to San Antonio’s Professional Sports Teams

san antonio sports spurs
Photo credit: Katie Haugland via Foter.com / CC BY

Just like the rest of Texas, the city of San Antonio is serious about its sports teams. Between basketball, baseball, hockey, and soccer, fans have plenty of action to keep up with. Take a look at the following list outlining the main professional sports organizations located in San Antonio.

Photo credit: Katie Haugland via Foter.com / CC BY
San Antonio Spurs NBA Basketball at the AT&T Center. Photo credit: Katie Haugland via Foter.com / CC BY

San Antonio Spurs – NBA

Five-time NBA champions, the San Antonio Spurs, own the hearts of local sports fans in the area. Founded in 1967, the team began as a member of the American Basketball Association (ABA) under the name the “Dallas Chaparrals.;” however, it wasn’t until 1973 that the franchise would relocate to San Antonio and be dubbed the “Spurs.” Just three years later, the Spurs would finally be admitted into the National Basketball Association (NBA )and the team participated in its first official NBA league game in October of 1976 against the Philadelphia 76ers, bringing home a victory of 121-118.

This first victory was just the beginning for the Spurs, who in time would be called home by some of basketball’s greatest players including George “The Iceman” Gervin (1974-1985), Dennis Rodman (1993-1995), David Robinson (1989-2003), Tim Duncan (1997-2016), Tony Parker (2001-Present) and plenty of others (note: dates indicate playing career while playing for San Antonio). The Spurs most recent NBA Championship came in 2007, leaving fans in San Antonio wondering: When will we see the City’s next championship run?

Photo credit: RedTail_Panther via Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA
San Antonio Stars WNBA Basketball. Photo credit: RedTail_Panther via Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

San Antonio Stars – WNBA

Originally founded as the “Utah Starzz” in 1997, the now San Antonio Stars were one of the original eight teams to form the Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA). In 2002, the team was sold to a new owner and relocated to San Antonio as the “Silver Stars,” before eventually being renamed once again as just the “Stars” in 2014. The team’s new colors upon arriving in San Antonio would become black and silver, meant as a connection to the men’s team, the San Antonio Spurs. Some of the Stars most well-known players have included Margo Dydek (1998-2008), Becky Hammon (1999-2014) Shanna Crossley (2006-2010), Sophia Young (2006-2015) and Danielle Robinson (2011-present) (note: dates indicate playing career in the WNBA).

While the Stars have yet to win a WNBA final, they did bring home a conference championship in 2008. As one of the 12 teams currently in the WNBA, the Stars are a member of the Western Conference in the playoff structure. The team also happens to be one of the five professional sports franchises owned and operated by Spurs Sports & Entertainment.

Photo credit: nan palmero via Foter.com / CC BY
San Antonio Missions Baseball at Nelson W. Wolff Municipal Stadium. Photo credit: nan palmero via Foter.com / CC BY

San Antonio Missions – Minor League Baseball

Since 2007, the San Antonio Missions have been the minor league Double-A affiliate to MLB’s San Diego Padres. In its early history, the team had also been known by many different names including the “Missionaries,” the “Gentleman,” the “Bronchos,” the “Aces,” the “Bears,” the “Indians,” the “Bullets,” the “Brewers,” and the “Dodgers.” The team is currently part of the Texas League in the South Division, and they’ve compiled 21 Division titles, 13 League titles, and one Dixie Series title in 1950. In all, more than 700 former San Antonio players have gone on to reach the Major Leagues with some of the most notable including Mike Piazza and Pedro Martínez.

The Missions’ home field is at Nelson W. Wolff Municipal Stadium, which opened in 1994 and holds over 9,000 fans with 6,200 seats. To pay tribute to its local San Antonio heritage, the team’s logo features the famous historical site, the Alamo, and the team’s mascot is called “Ballapeño,” a baseball-playing jalapeño.

Photo credit: Erik J. Gustafson via Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA
San Antonio Rampage Ice Hockey. Photo credit: Erik J. Gustafson via Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

San Antonio Rampage – American Hockey League (AHL)

In 2002, the Spurs Sports & Entertainment Company purchased a dormant AHL (American Hockey League) franchise with the NHL’s (National Hockey League) Florida Panthers, moving the team to San Antonio and forming the San Antonio Rampage. The team currently serves as the top affiliate of the NHL’s Colorado Avalanche. The team was originally nicknamed the San Antonio Stampede, but was later changed to the Rampage. Other Texas ice hockey teams who rival the Rampage include the Texas Stars and the Houston Aeros.

The team is now part of the Western Conference in the Pacific Division, and during the 2014-2015 season the Rampage brought home a Division Championship. Prior to the opening of the Rampage franchise, San Antonio had been the home to the San Antonio Iguanas of the CHL (Central Hockey League) from 1994-1997 and 1998-2002 and the San Antonio Dragons of the IHL (International Hockey League) from 1996-1998. The Rampage play in the AT&T Center, also home to the San Antonio Spurs and the San Antonio Stars.

San Antonio Scorpions at Toyota Field, prior to the franchising of the San Antonio FC. Photo Credit: Tcardone05 via Wiki Commons / CC-BY-SA-4.0

San Antonio FC – United Soccer League (USL)

The newest of all of San Antonio’s professional sports teams, the San Antonio FC was recently franchised in January 2016 as the 31st member of the USL (United Soccer League). With plans to expand the franchise into the MLS (Major League Soccer), the team was concurrently bought by the City of San Antonio and Bexar County along with the purchase of Toyota Field, which the team now calls their home field with a capacity of 8,296 fans. Toyota Field is expected to be expanded in the coming years to over 18,000 seats. In their first inaugural season, the San Antonio FC finished 10th in the Western Conference Playoffs.

Prior to the founding of the San Antonio FC, another NASL (North American Soccer league) team called San Antonio and Toyota Field its home: the San Antonio Scorpions. The Scorpions were founded in 2010, then dissolved in 2015 to make way for the franchising of the FC.

For more information about many of the professional San Antonio sports team, visit Spurs Sports & Entertainment. You can also visit any of the individual franchise pages to find out more about game schedules and ticket information:


Comments are closed.